March 1, 2024

Winners – SPANZ – New Zealand Speedway Awards 2012

The results are in and the winners of the SPANZ New Zealand Speedway Awards for 2012 have been announced in Auckland on Saturday.

Update: Looking for 2013 Speedway Award Winners ?


 2012 SPANZ – New Zealand Speedway Awards – Winners

Well done to all those finalists, and a big congratulations to the 2012 award winners.

The winners are:

Best National Media Support to Speedway

LiveSport Radio

Best Local Media Support to Speedway

The Nelson Mail

Best Written Article

Phil Burbidge – “A Grin and Tonic”

Track Announcer

Roger Tonkin – Stratford Speedway

Speedway Photographer of the Year

Jeremy Ward – Shot 360

Speedway Action Photo of the Year

Graham Hughes

Best Live Action Production of the Year

Volt TV – FIM Buckley Systems NZ Speedway Gran Prix – Western Springs

Best Website of the Year

Best Official to Speedway

Mike Miller

Best Presented Track – Club Promoted Venue

Huntly Placemakers Speedway

Best National Event

2012 ENZED Superstock Teams Championship – Palmerston North

Best Promotional Event

2012 FIM Buckley Systems NZ Speedway Grand Prix

Best National Event Programme

2012 ENZED Superstock Teams Champs

Best Promotional Event Programme

FIM Buckley Systems NZ Speedway Grand Prix

Best Promotional Printed Item – Paper

SPANZ Calendar

Best Promotional Printed Item – Other

Malcolm Ngatai Racing “19C” Slide

Contribution to Speedway

Bill Buckley

Speedway of the Year – Private Promoted Venue

Robertson Holden International Speedway – Palmerston North

Speedway of the Year – Club Promoted Venue

Rotorua Stockcar Club

Rookie of the Year

Regan Penn – Ministocks

Best Presented Racing Team

Salter Motor Sport

Best Presented Car and Crew

Faram Racing

Sports Person of the Year

Joe Faram

Competitor of the Year

National Classes


Joe Faram


Peter Rees


Deane & Rob Miller


Jason Bunyan


Ryan O’Connor


Richard “Bunter” Pierce


Craig Todd


Michael Pickens


David Hampton

Super Saloon:

Steve Flynn


Dayne Maxwell


Brent McClymont

Regional Classes

Production Saloons:

Shaun Kingi

Ministock (Youth):

Aimee Barnes

Modified Sprints:

Darryl Harris


Official results will be available in due course on:


  1. Ocd says:

    Dont forget Bradley Wilson Dean. 4th in the world under 17,s solos

  2. Brian Harris says:

    Great to see good ole Roger pick up the Track Announcer Award for (how many times is it).

Speak Your Mind