July 18, 2024

2013 FIM New Zealand Speedway Grand Prix – 23 March 2013 – Western Springs, Auckland


The 2013 FIM Speedway Grand Prix Series kicks off at Western Spring Speedway in Auckland, New Zealand, on Saturday the 23rd of March.


FIM Speedway Grand Prix

Fifteen of the world’s most amazing solo riders will descend on Western Springs, on the 23rd of March to contest round one of the World Championship FIM Speedway Grand Prix series.

See a number of World Champions take to the track, including: Australia’s Chris Holder; Denmark’s Nicki Pedersen; Poland’s Tomasz Gollob; American Greg Hancock – (two time world champion and winner of the inaugural New Zealand FIM Speedway Grand Prix at Western Springs last year).

Where: Western Springs Stadium, Stadium Rd, Auckland, New Zealand (Show map)
Tickets from NZ$30.00 kids to NZ$60.00 adults. On sale now, buy Tickets from TicketMaster. Parking NZ$5 (cash only) first in first serve.
Flights & Accommodation: Book your hotel in Auckland and your flights before it’s too late.

For more information on the World Championship FIM Speedway Grand Prix series visit the Official Website here: www.speedwaygp.com

Note: Rider line-ups, timings and programmed entertainment subject to change.



Photos: World Sprintcar Classic + Midgets: TQs – Western Springs Speedway

Photos via our Facebook page from the World Sprintcar Classic + Midgets: TQs meeting, at Western Springs Speedway on Saturday 24th of November 2012.

Hope you like them.


TWS Golden Helmet – 25 Nov 2012 – Kihikihi Speedway

An action packed Saturday at Kihikihi Speedway on Sunday 25th of November so make sure you get along and check it out:

TWS Golden Helmet, McDonalds Kihikihi Speedway Club

What:  Superstocks, Stockcars, Ministocks, Streetstocks, Saloons, Six Shooters, Solos.
When: Racing starts 1.00pm, Sunday, 25 November 2012
Where: Kihikihi Speedway, Oliver Street, Kihikihi
Prices: Adults $15, Family $30, Unaccompanied Children (15 and under) $10, Students & Seniors $10 (ID required)

For more information see: kihikihispeedway.co.nz



Lucas Oil Superstock Shootout Series + Robin Pratt Memorial Stockcars – 24 Nov 2012 – Robertson Holden International Speedway, Palmerston North

Like contact racing? Well, this Saturday we have the The Lucas Oil $50,000 Superstock Series along with the Robin Pratt Memorial Stockcar Champs, so come on down.

Superstocks and Stockcars Double Header

Lucas Oil $50,000 Superstock Series + Robin Pratt Memorial Stockcar Champs, Palmerston North

From Robertson Holden International Speedway:

The Lucas Oil $50,000 Superstock Series will see the battles continue; Peter Bengston v Scott Miers, Graeme Barr v Shaun Pearson, Peter Rees v Kerry Humphrey – paybacks are due this week! Confirmed visitors include Phil Ogle and Michel Willemsen from Stratford along with Wellingtonians Dale Robertson, Allen Levien, Mike Pye, Paul Fairbrother and Scott McIntosh. A field of 25-30 sensational Superstocks are expected to take part in the opening round of this lower North Island series.

The Robin Pratt Memorial has been rescheduled from an earlier rainout, and is normally one of the hardest-fought competitions on the calendar. Qualifying is likely to be required, with 50+ Stockcars requiring whittling down to 36 cars for the three final heats. Six-time winner and current 1nz Peter Rees will start as favourite, but the field in Palmerston North has never looked so even. Former winners Rob Miers and Darrel Wallace will also be in the hunting pack, but will experience win the day for others like Ron Tye and Gavin Taniwha, or will youth prevail in the form of Asher Rees, Zac Harris or William Humphries?

Sidecars, Youth Ministocks, and Minisprints make up the other classes racing.

When: Racing starts 7.00pm, Saturday, 24 Nov 2012
Where: Robertson Holden International Speedway, Arena Manawatu, Cnr Cuba and Pascal Streets, Palmerston North
Prices: Adults $25 (16yrs and over), Children $10 (8-15yrs), Family $60 (2adults 2children), Under 7 free.

For more information see: www.pnspeedway.co.nz


TWS Auckland Superstock Championship – 17 Nov 2012 – Waikaraka Park Speedway

That’s right, it’s the TWS Auckland Superstock Champs on Saturday 17th of November at Waikaraka Park.

Update: Looking for the 2013 Auckland Superstock Champs instead?

TWS Super Stock Championship

TWS Auckland Superstock Champs

Bring the whole family to witness 20 something Superstocks battling it out for the title at Waikaraka Family Speedway.

Proudly spoonsored by Technical Welding Services (TWS), this is an event not to be missed.

There’s also Streetstocks from Christchurch, Hamilton, Rotorua, and Gisborne, along with Stockcars, Saloons, Streetstocks, Modifieds, Sidecars and Ministocks.

UPDATE: Cancelled

When: Gates open 5.00pm, Racing starts 7.00pm. Saturday, 17 November 2012
Where: Waikaraka Park Speedway, 175 Neilson Street, Te Papapa, Auckland
Prices: Adults $20, Children $10 (8-15years or up to 20yrs with Student ID, Senior $60 (65+ with Gold Card)

SuperStock entries (as at 15 November from Waikaraka Park):

113a Tony Takarua
115a Darren Short
118m Bryce Steiner
11a Gary Ellis
135r Scott Hewson
15a Gavin Entwisle
15h Karl Pegg
23k Tony Fabish
23r Lance Ashton
242a Bernie Fox
28h Glen Drabble
33r Robbie Maybe
36a Ricky Mitchell
51a Wayne Whittaker
53a Phil Marx
5a Brad Ridland
63a Tim Nicholls
6a Kerry Remnant
71h Tony Wootton
73a Bryce Marx
73h Karl Ross
87r David Elsworth

For more information see: www.waikarakafamilyspeedway.co.nz