April 25, 2024

Christchurch Earthquake Update

Cathedral in ChCh destroyed #eqnz on Twitpic

You would have all heard the awful news of the devastating 6.3 magnitude earthquake that hit 10km south-east of Christchurch CBD on Tuesday.

Our hearts go out to all those in the speedway family have been affected in one way or another.

Speedway New Zealand have released the following statement:

On behalf of Speedway NZ, we pass on our thoughts and best wishes to all those in the Canterbury region, especially the members of the wider speedway community who have been affected by the tragic earthquake.

With over 330 competitors and 50 Officials at the three licensed tracks (Moore Park, Ruapuna and Woodford Glen), Canterbury is home to more Speedway NZ members than any other province. We wish all of them the best for the coming weeks.

We have also been advised by Woodford Glen that the South Island Superstock Champs to be held this weekend have been postponed. More details will follow at a later date about this event.

The President, Directors, CEO and Staff of Speedway NZ.

Keep an eye on the website for further updates www.speedway.co.nz

In the meantime make sure your family, friends, neighbours, work mates, and those nearby are ok.

If you are concerned about your friends and relatives in Christchurch you can try the Google Person Finder or you should call 0800 REDCROSS (0800 733 276).

Make sure you keep an eye on the site for New Zealand Ministry of Civil Defence and Emergency Management and Google’s Crisis Response website.

Our thoughts are with you Christchurch.

Promo Video for Speedway Racing

Here’s a short promo video for SpeedwayRacing.co.nz thanks to Steve.

Check out Steve’s YouTube channel (MaoriMadeProduction) for more speedway action.

2011 Tubby Norriss Memorial Ministocks In Paradise – Rotorua Speedway

Tubby Norriss Memorial Ministocks In Paradise’

2011 Ministocks in Paradise Dates:

Friday 11th February 2011

Saturday 12th February 2011

Rotorua’s SG Equipment Paradise Valley Raceway

Young races from across the country and getting ready to head to Rotorua for one of New Zealand’s biggest single-class speedway events, the 2011 ‘Tubby Norriss Memorial Ministocks In Paradise’.

This is set to be a two night meeting at Rotorua’s SG Equipment Paradise Valley Raceway and is set to run on Friday 11 and Saturday 12 February, with entries numbers growing over 100.

‘Ministocks In Paradise’ has become the premier youth speedway event, and in its short history, has grown from a small regionalised one-nighter to what will this season be the largest single class speedway event held in the country.

The Rotorua Stockcar Club has looked to evolve the meeting, with the 2011 running being split into two separate junior and senior championships.

More details, qualifying groups, and final format information will be uploaded on www.rotoruaspeedway.co.nz closer to the event.

Baypark Results – Meeting #10 – North Island Saloon Championship 2011

Results from Baypark Speedway North Island Saloon Championship on 5th February 2011.

North Island Saloon Car Championship Results

1st 1NZ Steve Williams
2nd 2NZ Brent McClymont
3rd 10 Neil Head


North Island Saloon Car Championship

Fastest Qualifier
2NZ Brent McClymont 17.9489 secs
Heat 1
1st 10 Neil Head
2nd 78S Chris Betts
3rd 14 Brett Kaye
Heat 2
1st 10H Kevin Moore
2nd 46 Terry Corin
3rd 55A Bryan Skelton
Heat 3
1st 75 Michelle Wymer
2nd 74A Scott Lansdowne
3rd 16 Steve Muir
1st 2NZ Brent McClymont
2nd 1NZ Steve Williams
3rd 75 Michelle Wymer
B. Main
1st 16S Thomas Korff
2nd 45 Paul Cressy
3rd 272 Chris Cowling


Heat 1
1st 46 Matt Smith
2nd 8 Craig Cardwell
3rd 7 Brent Emerson
Heat 2
1st 76 Karl Hanlon
2nd 8H Craig Cardwell
3rd 1NZ Shane McIntyre
1st 46 Matt Smith
2nd 24 Ben Harding
3rd 76 Karl Hanlon


Heat 1
1st 14 Bradley Tyrrell
2nd 69 Colin Entwisle
3rd 23 Kerri-Anne James
Heat 2
1st 14 Bradley Tyrrell
2nd 69 Colin Entwisle
3rd 23 Kerri-Anne James


Heat 1
1st 8 Marc Dunn
2nd 67 Brad Marsh
3rd 24 Cole Wood
Heat 2
1st 24 Cole Wood
2nd 87 Josh Henstock
3rd 16 Jayden Steiner
1st 8 Marc Dunn
2nd 72 Shane Wilson
3rd 67 Brad Marsh

ENZED Superstock Teams Champs – 4th & 5th Feb 2011 – Robertson Holden International Speedway, Palmerston North

That’s right, it’s time again for the big one:

The ENZED Superstock Teams Champs.

Palmerston North’s Robertson Holden International Speedway is ready to roar into life with the 30th Anniversary of the Superstock Teams Champs.

Superstock Teams Champs – Qualifying

Friday 4th February 2011

Superstock Teams Champs  – Finals

Saturday 5th Feburary 2011

Tickets are selling fast! Get in quick

Tickets are available from TicketDirect – Phone: 0800 4 TICKET or www.ticketdirect.co.nz. There will be gate sales on both days at the Waldegrave Street ticket booth from 10am Friday, and 12pm Saturday. You can also purchase tickets in town from the Regent Theatre or the Convention Centre.

Friday’s scrutineering location is in the Sqaure from 1pm until 4pm. Everyone is welcome to come and have a close up look at the cars.

With eleven teams entering instead of the usual twelve, the format will be the same as last year. Also racing on Saturday will be Consolation Superstock races, Classic Stockcars and Sidecars.

Admission (same price for each night)

Adult (16 years and over): $40
Child (8 – 15 years old): $15
Family (2 Adults and up to 4 Children): $100
Reserved Seats (Grandstand or Embankment): $10 extra

Note: No Family concession or Seven and under free in reserved sections. All children fifteen and under in the reserved sections need to pay for a child’s seat.

In the event of a Rain Out reserved seats move to the next day of racing – i.e Friday to Saturday, and Saturday to Sunday.

The Draw

The draw is as follows:

  • Waikato Wanderers v Stratford Scrappers
  • Canterbury Glen Eagles v British Lions
  • Rotorua Rebels v Palmerston North Panthers
  • Manawatu Mustangs v Hawkes Bay Hawkeyes
  • Kihikihi Kings v Nelson Tigers
  • Wanganui Warriors v Waikato Wanderers
  • British Lions v Stratford Scrappers
  • Canterbury Glen Eagles v Rotorua Rebels
  • Palmerston North Panthers v Manawatu Mustangs
  • Nelson Tigers v Hawkes Bay Hawkeyes
  • Kihikihi Kings v Wanganui Warriors

Team Lineups

Below is the list of confirmed team lineups as at 30/01/2011. They are subject to change. Check out www.pnspeedway.co.nz for the latest info.

British Lions
01gb Frankie Wainman Jr
02gb Tom Harris
03gb Mark Taylor
04gb Craig Finnikin
00gb Mick Harris
Res: Chris Brockstopp
Canterbury Glen Eagles
71c Trevor Mason
72c Malcolm Ngatai
73c Murray Greig
74c Dennis Andreassend
75c Matt Ngatai
Res: Nick Self
Hawkes Bay Hawkeyes
31b Murray Long
32b Jayson Palamountain
33b Garry Foley
34b Dave Tarrant
35b Steve Jude
Res: Paul Demanser
Kihikihi Kings
24k Kyle Stove
25k Keven Roberts
27k Brad Ridland
28k Grant Mytton
29k Ryan Johnson
Res: Craig Owens
Manawatu Mustangs
52p Scott Joblin
72p Simon Joblin
77p Brett Hyslop
79p Kerry Humphrey
98p Craig Humphries
Res: Wayne Norris
Nelson Tigers
81n Brendan Higgins
82n Jared Gray
83n Brett Nicholls
84n Shane Harwood
85n Dale Ewers
Res: Blair Cunningham
Palmerston North Panthers
5p Peter Rees
6p Wayne Hemi
7p Peter Bengston
8p Scott Miers
9p Shane Penn
Res: Andy McCabe
Rotorua Rebels
95r Scott Hewson
96r Mark Decke
97r Ross Ashby
98r Bryce Steiner
99r Kyle Fraser
Res: Alan McRobbie
Stratford Scrappers
41s Paul Johnson
42s Phil Ogle
43s Steve Guilford
44s Ricky Boulton
45s Chris Flett
Res: Michael Willemsen
Waikato Wanderers
93h Karl Ross
94h Kerry Remnant
95h Warwick Ansty
96h Glen Drabble
97h Dave Roigard
Res: Warren Burkhart
Wanganui Warriors
14v Darryl Taylor
15v Dion Mooney
16v Ian Barron
17v Bevan Humphrey
18v Scott Duncan
Res: Richard Watkins

For the latest upto date information on this event see www.pnspeedway.co.nz